//
you're reading...
Champagne Review

Francois Dubois Champagne NV | Champagne Review

The queue for the bottle bin. AGAIN!

Following a period of prolonged inebriation for reasons I seem to have forgotten (it might have been my birthday), I’ve slightly neglected to type up any reviews, despite having quaffed enough to fill the bottle bin twice over. 

So I’ve trawled through my notes, deciphered my spidery scrawl and first up from the backlog is:

Francois Dubois Brut Champagne NV
Tesco
Chadonnay, Pinot Noir and Pinot Meunier
Around £30 (’twas a birthday present)
 

I bloomin enjoyed this bottle. I like dry wines, ciders and Champagnes, but this is dry like…crisp autumn leaves and it’s tart too like gooseberries, or just going out wearing nothing but autumn leaves to cover your bits. Perfect with cheesecake and cream, or as we had it, with smelly cheese and cheese crackers from Marksy’s. Phwoar. I’m salivating just thinking about it. Mouth watering, bubbly fizziness mingled with rich, creamy cheese. Is there anything quite as sexy? 

Er, slightly disconcerting but reading through my notes it seems that I have scrawled the words ‘golddigger’, ‘candy man’ and ‘dirty’ on this page along with the review; I fear my mind wandered slightly after all that cheese and now I’ve allowed you a disturbing insight in to my musical tastes as well as Champagne. Anyway, it’s less gold, more pale yellow. Being so dry it’s no candy man, but there is a hint of biscuity goodness and it’s dirty, like er, a dirty bitch?

Would make a good prezzie even if it is a bit on the pricey side for my liking.

4/5, come on!

Champagne Piggy ©

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Francois Dubois Champagne NV | Champagne Review

  1. Personally, I had a rather painful experience with a bottle of Francois Dubois Brut Champagne today. My Christmas dinner started with me opening a bottle, for my family, that had a fault at the top where the glass was very sharp on one side of the rim. Twisting the bottle open resulted in me cutting my hand open. Not at all happy. I hope that F. D. Champagne contact me soon!

    Posted by Jake Aust | December 26, 2013, 12:49 am
  2. Aldi

    Posted by Champagne the Wonder Horse | July 8, 2013, 4:25 pm
  3. Happy New Year, Maggie! Thanks for the comment – I do like to know what you all think of the Champers; it’d be a dull ol’ world if we all enjoyed quaffing the same stuff, don’t you agree? I think a few of my readers would love to know where they can get their trotters on a bottle for twelve quid, if you’d be kind enough to tell us, Maggie?

    Posted by Champagne Piggy | January 5, 2013, 12:15 pm
  4. Afraid I comoletely disagree with your review. Neither of us liked this at all. Currentl on sale in supermarkets for £12 so certainly not pricey!

    Posted by Maggie | January 1, 2013, 9:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Archives

Oinks

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 351 other followers

Quaffed & Reviewed

http://champagnepiggy.wordpress.com/2010/08/02/jacquarts-love-of-my-life/

Jacquart

Francois Dubois

La Grande Dame 1998

La Grande Dame 1998

Pierre Darcys Champagne Piggy

Pierre Darcys

Janisson et Fils Champagne Piggy

Janisson et Fils

Nicolas Feuillate

Nicolas Feuillate

Nicolas Feuillatte Rose

Nicolas Feuillatte Rose

Tesco Premier Cru

Tesco Premier Cru

Veuve Monsigny

Jacquart Rose

Jacquart Rose

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers

